The 2015 HK Prize

The Hong Kong Prize is one of Asia’s leading science awards and offers researchers who are passionate about their work an opportunity to be recognized for it. Not only will winners receive monetary awards but also access to Hong Kong’s premier research facilities for use during judging by an independent expert panel consisting of academic and business representatives within Hong Kong society – so rest assured that your project will be assessed fairly!

Many of the finalists in this competition are well-established writers; others are just starting out in the industry. This contest provides them an excellent way to test themselves and see if they have what it takes to compete successfully in their chosen industry, potentially reaping rewards such as cash prizes as well as shopping vouchers and F&B benefits at award ceremonies if successful. It is vital that participants read all rules thoroughly as violating any could result in disqualification from participating.

This year’s hk Prize recognized selfless volunteers and good Samaritans who work to improve our world, such as students using technology to assist homeless individuals and a professor whose liquid biopsy technology helps doctors more quickly diagnose cancer. Also recognized was a cartoonist censored in China due to his drawings mocking Beijing’s crackdown on free expression.

Veteran performer, martial artist and director Sammo Hung received the Lifetime Achievement award, while best new director was awarded to Nick Cheuk Yik-him for his drama about family trauma and student suicide entitled Time Still Turns the Pages. Tse Yin won best actress for her role as a young migrant struggling against drug addiction as well as her father’s gambling debts.

This award, established to foster scientific and technological innovation in Hong Kong, comprises judges comprised of scientists from prestigious universities in the region as well as representatives from government agencies and sponsoring enterprises. Its objective is to encourage young researchers to follow their passions while expanding global perspectives – and contribute to building an atmosphere for scientific research that has produced Nobel laureates over time.

In their nomination letter, 15 professors referenced examples of persecuted dissidents and freedom fighters such as Nazi critic Carl von Ossietzky, Soviet dissident Andrei Sakharov and Polish activist Lech Walesa as inspiration for giving five imprisoned Hong Kong pro-democracy activists who face imprisonment under China’s national security law a Peace Prize would emphasize their highest moral aspirations values even while they face imprisonment under its national security laws. Furthermore, they urged international society to assist these activists’ freedom of speech/expression while standing up for human rights and democracy both locally in Hong Kong as well as China.